AI Drama Reviews logoAIDramaReviews

The AI Tools Behind AI Dramas: What Generates the Footage, What It Costs

· Written by the AI Drama Reviews editorial team · 37 min read

The short answer

No single tool makes an AI drama. A finished episode passes through a text-to-video model, a voice system, an editor and a human continuity pass, and the generation models everyone argues about are the cheapest, fastest and most solved part of that chain. The published prices that exist are narrow: Sora 2 at $0.10 per second at 720p, Runway Gen-4.5 at 12 credits per second, Luma Plus at $29.99 a month with commercial rights, Google Flow Pro at $19.99 for 1,000 credits a month. Several other prices in circulation — Kling, Pika, Sora 2 Pro — come from secondary reporting, and Topview publishes no price at all. This page marks every figure with where it came from.

DramaBox app icon DramaBoxEditor's pick — biggest short-drama library, lowest price to go unlimited 9.8Excellent
  • Thousands of series, roughly 200 new titles every month
  • Free episodes daily, plus ad-unlocks — no card needed to start
  • Unlimited plans from about $5.99 a week, the lowest entry price we found
  • Runs on Android, iOS and in a desktop browser
Go to DramaBoxAffiliate link · free to download · in-app purchases available

Affiliate link. We may earn a commission if you install through it, at no extra cost to you — it never changes our scores or placements. How we test · Disclaimer

Which AI tools actually generate the footage?

The footage in an AI drama is generated by a text-to-video or image-to-video model — most commonly Sora 2, Google's Veo 3.1, Runway Gen-4.5, Luma, Kling, Pika, ByteDance's Seedance 2.0 or ByteDance's Jimeng — in clips of roughly four to twelve seconds that are then assembled into episodes by human editors. There is no model in this list that takes a story premise and returns a season.

That constraint is the most important fact on this page, so it goes first. Shots in this category rarely exceed 10 to 12 seconds, and that ceiling is a property of the models rather than a directing style. Kling is the outlier at up to about three minutes; Jimeng runs about 12 seconds per generation and 30 seconds with motion templates; Veo 3.1 produces 4, 6 or 8 seconds depending on which tier you pay for. Every 90-second episode you have watched was stitched from a dozen or more separate generations.

The second most important fact is that the prices are not stable and not uniformly published. Some vendors publish per-second API pricing. Some publish credit bundles and make you calculate what a credit buys. Some publish nothing for the US market. We separate those three states everywhere on this page instead of averaging them into a single tidy number.

If you arrived here looking for a "best AI drama generator" verdict, the useful reframing is this: the generator is a commodity input, and the thing that decides whether your series is watchable is the continuity work that happens after the generator has finished. We explain why in why AI drama characters change between episodes.

What are the four types of AI video tool?

The products on this page are not competitors in a single market. They fall into four categories that do different jobs, and comparing a per-second API price against a monthly credit subscription against an end-to-end drama workflow is the most common error in coverage of this topic.

Four categories of AI drama tool, and what each is actually for
CategoryWhat it doesExamples hereHow it prices
Per-second API modelGenerates video clips programmatically, billed by output durationOpenAI Sora 2 (sora-2)$0.10 per second at 720p; Pro tier reported at $0.30–$0.70
Credit-based creative suiteGeneration plus editing controls, inside a subscription with a credit allowanceGoogle Flow (Veo 3.1), Runway, Luma, Kling, Pika, Adobe FireflyMonthly or annual subscription; a credit balance that a generation consumes
Foundation model without a US retail pageA model that raises the ceiling for everyone downstream but is not sold to US creators as a boxed planByteDance Seedance 2.0, ByteDance JimengNot published for the US in our sourced material — verify at the vendor
End-to-end drama workflowStory planning through to a finished vertical episode, generation included as one stepTopview Drama StudioPrice not displayed on its public page

The fourth category is the one that is genuinely new. Everything in the first three sells you clips; Topview sells you a pipeline. Whether the pipeline is any good is a separate question we cannot answer from published material, but the category distinction is real and it is the one most listicles collapse.

A note on scope before the tool-by-tool section. This page describes the tools. It does not describe the apps that distribute the finished series — that is our reviews section, where the thirteen apps we test are scored on catalogue, price and billing transparency.

What does Sora 2 cost, and what can it do?

Sora 2 is the only tool on this page with a clean, published, per-second price: $0.10 per second at 720p in portrait or landscape, with synchronised audio, under the model id sora-2. Portrait matters here — vertical 9:16 is the native shape of this entire category, and a model that charges the same for portrait as for landscape removes a rounding error other vendors leave in.

What the per-second price means in practice

At $0.10 a second, sixty seconds of generated output costs $6 and ninety seconds costs $9. That is the arithmetic everybody does first, and it is misleading, because it prices generated seconds rather than accepted seconds. If four takes in five are discarded — a realistic ratio for a shot with a specific character in a specific costume doing a specific action — the effective cost of ninety usable seconds is five times the headline. The metric that matters is cost per accepted shot.

Synchronised audio is the feature that changes the workflow rather than the price. A model that produces dialogue audio in step with the mouth removes one of the most visible failure modes in the category, lip movement drifting out of sync with the line. It does not remove the failure mode entirely, and it does not solve identity drift between shots.

Sora 2 Pro, and the consumer app

Sora 2 Pro has been reported at $0.30 to $0.70 per second depending on resolution. That is a reported range, not a figure we retrieved from an official pricing page, and the spread is wide enough that budgeting a season on the midpoint would be reckless. At the top of that range, ninety seconds of Pro output is $63 of generated material before a single frame is discarded.

The original Sora consumer product was reported as no longer available as of April 26, 2026, while the API remained active. If you are planning a production line, that distinction is load-bearing: the API is the thing you can build on, and a consumer app that has been withdrawn is not a foundation. Sora 2 and Runway Gen-4.5 are both documented as reaching up to 1080p, which is more than adequate for a 9:16 phone-first release.

What can Google Veo 3.1 and Flow do?

Google's Veo 3.1, used through the Flow interface, is the most feature-complete shot-control product in this comparison: reference images, input video, first and last frames, camera controls, scene extension, outpainting, and object insert and remove, with 1080p and 4K workflows and a SynthID watermark on the output. For an AI drama specifically, first-and-last-frame control and reference images are the two features that most directly reduce identity drift.

The feature set that matters for serialised drama

Reference images let you pin a character's face to a locked set of stills, which is the foundation of the character bible technique every serious AI drama production uses. First and last frames let you specify where a shot begins and ends, so a cut between two generations does not jump. Scene extension buys you a few more seconds without a visible seam. Outpainting and object insert and remove are repair tools — they fix a frame that is nearly right rather than forcing a regeneration.

None of these eliminates the underlying problem. They reduce it. A character reference image constrains a face; it does not guarantee the same face two hundred generations later, and it does nothing about jewellery, hairstyle or body proportions shifting between shots. Google's SynthID watermark is a provenance signal embedded in the output, which is a disclosure feature rather than a quality feature, and it is worth knowing it is there before you build a business on the assumption that nothing marks your footage.

Flow credit costs, tier by tier

Google Flow credit costs for Veo 3.1, and what each tier produces
Model tierCredits per generationCredits for Ultra subscribersOutput length
Veo 3.1 Lite1054, 6 or 8 seconds
Veo 3.1 Fast20104, 6 or 8 seconds
Veo 3.1 Quality100Not separately listed in our source8 seconds
1080p upscaleFree for Plus, Pro and UltraFreen/a
4K outputUnavailable to non-Ultra plans50 creditsn/a

The subscription tiers around those costs: free users get 50 credits a day in supported regions, Plus gets 200 credits a month, Pro gets 1,000 credits a month at $19.99 for Google One Pro, and Ultra tiers are listed at $100 for 10,000 credits and $200 for 25,000 credits. Monthly credits do not roll over, so an unused allowance is money spent on nothing.

Work the Pro tier through and the picture sharpens. One thousand credits a month at 100 credits per Quality generation is ten Quality generations — eighty seconds of 8-second output, before any of it is rejected. That is not one episode. A creator working at Quality on the Pro plan is buying roughly enough footage for a fraction of a single 90-second episode a month.

The Ultra pricing inconsistency, stated plainly

Google's own pages are not internally consistent on Ultra pricing. The help page our figures come from lists $100 for 10,000 credits and $200 for 25,000 credits. Those are different credits-per-dollar ratios, and we cannot tell from published material which is current, which is regional, or whether one is stale. We are reporting the inconsistency rather than picking the more flattering number. If you are budgeting a season around Ultra, confirm at Google's own checkout in your region first, and treat any comparison table that presents a single confident Ultra figure — including tables that copy ours — as unverified.

How much does Runway Gen-4.5 cost per second?

Runway is the easiest tool here to budget precisely, because Gen-4.5 consumes exactly 12 credits per second: a 5-second clip is 60 credits and a 10-second clip is 120 credits, against published plan allowances. Gen-4.5 was released on December 1, 2025.

The plans, and what each buys in seconds

Runway Free is $0 with 125 one-time credits and a watermark, and you cannot buy more credits on it — 125 credits at 12 per second is about ten seconds of Gen-4.5 output, total, ever. Standard is $15 a month or $12 on annual billing with 625 credits, about 52 seconds. Pro is $35 a month or $28 annual with 2,250 credits, about 187 seconds. Max is $95 a month or $76 annual with 9,500 credits, about 791 seconds, a little over thirteen minutes of generated material a month.

Thirteen minutes sounds substantial until you set it against a season. A 40-to-100 episode season at 60 to 120 seconds an episode is roughly two to three hours of finished runtime, and finished runtime is a fraction of generated runtime. Runway's top consumer plan does not, on its own, produce a season in a month, and no honest reading of the credit maths suggests otherwise.

The credit rules that catch people out

Three details in Runway's model deserve more attention than they usually get. Monthly credits expire on several plans, so an allowance you did not spend is gone. Purchased credits do not expire, which makes topping up behave differently from subscribing. And the web and API credit pools are separate — credits bought for one are not spendable in the other, which is a genuinely expensive surprise if you prototype on the web app and then move to the API.

The free tier's watermark and its inability to buy more credits make it a demo rather than a starting point. That is a legitimate product decision, but it should be read as one: 125 credits is not a trial of a production workflow, it is a trial of the interface.

Luma Dream Machine and Ray3.2

Luma is the one vendor in this comparison that states the commercial-use boundary explicitly on its plans, and the boundary is placed where it hurts: the $9.99 Lite plan is watermarked and non-commercial. Luma's pricing page was updated January 25, 2026, and Ray3.2 was announced June 9, 2026.

The three tiers

Lite costs $9.99 a month on the web or $12.99 through iOS, includes 3,200 credits, watermarks the output and is non-commercial. Plus costs $29.99 web or $37.99 iOS, includes 10,000 credits, removes the watermark and grants full commercial rights. Unlimited costs $94.99 web or $119.99 iOS and includes 10,000 fast credits plus unlimited relaxed generations.

The iOS surcharge is consistent across all three tiers and is worth naming: paying through the App Store costs $3 to $25 more a month for the same product. That is a platform-fee pass-through rather than a Luma decision, but it comes out of your budget either way, and buying on the web is the cheaper path.

Why the non-commercial Lite tier matters here

An AI drama is monetised. That is the entire point of the format — coin walls, subscriptions, ad unlocks and revenue splits. A watermarked, non-commercial generation tier is therefore not a cheap option for a drama producer; it is not an option at all. Luma's entry price for anyone in this category is effectively $29.99 on the web, and the $9.99 headline that appears in comparison tables is not addressable by this use case.

The Unlimited tier's "unlimited relaxed generations" is the most interesting structure in the category for high-volume work, because it converts an unpredictable per-shot cost into a fixed monthly one at the price of queue time. Our source material does not specify what relaxed queue times are in practice, so we cannot tell you whether the trade is a good one.

How long a clip can Kling generate?

Kling's distinguishing technical fact is length: it generates up to about three minutes, far beyond every other model in this comparison, most of which top out between four and twelve seconds. For a format where a whole episode runs 60 to 120 seconds, a three-minute ceiling is a categorical difference rather than an incremental one.

Kling's plan prices, from independent 2026 reports rather than an official page we retrieved, run roughly $10 for Standard, $37 for Pro, $92 for Premier and $180 for Ultra. Those four figures are secondary-source and are labelled that way in the pricing table below. We are not going to present them with the same confidence as Sora's per-second rate, and neither should anyone quoting this page.

One caution about the three-minute figure. Longer generation is not the same as longer coherent generation. The research literature is consistent that spatiotemporal consistency degrades over time — an ACM survey published May 18, 2026 treats it as the central open problem, and work on OpenReview from March 2026 reaches the same conclusion about narrative coherence across long sequences. A model that will run for three minutes is not necessarily a model that holds a face for three minutes.

Pika

Pika offers a free tier and paid plans reported at roughly $8 for Standard, $28 for Pro and $76 for Fancy — all secondary-source figures, none retrieved from an official pricing page in our verification pass.

That is genuinely all we can tell you with a source attached, and we would rather say so than pad the section. Our fact base does not record Pika's maximum generation length, its resolution ceiling, its watermark policy, its commercial-use terms or its credit-expiry rules. Every one of those is a question you would need answered before committing a season to it.

Treat the absence as a finding. A tool whose terms we cannot verify from published material is a tool you should verify yourself at checkout, and the fact that a widely-cited price set circulates without an authoritative page behind it tells you something about how carefully the rest of the category is being reported.

ByteDance Seedance 2.0

Seedance 2.0, released by ByteDance in February 2026, is described as a notable step up in generation quality, and it arrived in the same window as the surge in Chinese AI drama output. Its significance to this page is contextual rather than transactional: no US retail price for it appears in our sourced material.

The context is worth spelling out. The China Netcasting Services Association reported that more than 95% of new Chinese microdramas in the first quarter of 2026 were AI-generated, and DataEye counted roughly 221,900 AI dramas published on Douyin in the first half of 2026, about 1,200 a day. A quality step change in a ByteDance model in February 2026 sits directly upstream of that volume. Of those 221,900 titles, about 1,055 (0.47%) passed 100 million views, which is the number to keep in mind whenever a better model is described as a solution.

For a US creator, Seedance matters mostly as a signal of where the ceiling is moving. We cannot give you a price, a maximum shot length, a watermark policy or commercial terms for it, because our sources do not contain them.

ByteDance Jimeng

ByteDance's Jimeng generates about 12 seconds per generation, extending to 30 seconds with motion templates — one of the few hard shot-length figures published for any model in this category.

Twelve seconds is a useful benchmark because it is close to the practical ceiling across the whole category. Production shots in AI dramas rarely exceed 10 to 12 seconds, and Jimeng's spec is a clean illustration of why: the models simply do not hold a coherent world for longer. The 30-second figure with motion templates is not the same capability — a motion template constrains what can happen in the shot, which is exactly how the extra duration is bought.

As with Seedance, our material does not include a US retail price, watermark policy or commercial terms for Jimeng, and we are not going to estimate them. What Jimeng contributes to this page is the number that explains the edit: if your longest reliable unit is twelve seconds, a 90-second episode needs at least eight cuts, and the cuts are where continuity breaks.

Adobe Firefly

Adobe Firefly Standard is $9.99 a month, and Adobe's Firefly Video Model was announced in limited public beta on October 14, 2024 with support for more than 100 prompt languages. Adobe also claims its training data is commercially safe — that is a vendor claim about its own product, and we report it as a claim rather than a verified fact.

The commercial-safety positioning is the reason Firefly appears in AI drama discussions at all, because rights exposure is one of the four things no generation tool solves for you. If a vendor's training data really is cleared, one specific category of risk narrows. But a producer relying on that has substituted a vendor's assurance for their own legal review, and no independent audit of the claim appears in our source material.

The 100+ prompt-language support is a practical advantage for a category built on localisation. A large share of what US viewers watch in this format began as non-English production, and a tool that accepts direction in the writer's own language removes a translation step from the front of the pipeline rather than the back.

Topview Drama Studio

Topview Drama Studio is the only product on this page built specifically for AI drama production rather than clip generation: an end-to-end workflow covering story planning, editable scripts, characters, locations, props, storyboards, voice, subtitles, generated video and vertical episode production. It was publicly marketed in July 2026. Its price is not displayed on its public page.

Read that feature list against the four things no generation model does, and Topview is aimed squarely at three of them. Story planning and editable scripts address the arc problem. Characters, locations and props address the continuity problem. Storyboards and vertical episode production address the assembly problem. Rights clearance is the one it does not claim to touch, and rights clearance is the one that carries legal consequences.

We cannot score it. A workflow product with no published price and no independent evaluation in our source material is a product you can describe but not recommend. What we can say is that the category it defines — pipeline rather than generator — is the direction the tooling is moving, and that the absence of a price on a publicly marketed product in July 2026 is itself worth noting when you compare it against vendors who publish per-second rates.

What does each AI video tool cost?

This is the table the rest of the page exists to support: every tool, every price we have, and a status column saying whether that price came from an official page, from secondary reporting, or from nowhere because the vendor does not publish one. Read the status column before you read the price.

AI video tool pricing as recorded on August 19, 2026, with source status for every figure
ToolPublished priceStatusNote
OpenAI Sora 2 (API)$0.10 per second, 720p portrait or landscapeVerified official pageModel id sora-2; synchronised audio included
OpenAI Sora 2 Pro$0.30–$0.70 per second by resolutionSecondary sourceReported range; wide enough that the midpoint is not a budget
Google Flow — Free50 credits a dayVerified official pageSupported regions only; credits do not roll over
Google Flow — Plus200 credits a monthVerified official pageIncludes free 1080p upscale
Google Flow — Pro$19.99 (Google One Pro), 1,000 credits a monthVerified official pageTen Veo 3.1 Quality generations a month
Google Flow — Ultra$100 for 10,000 credits · $200 for 25,000 creditsVerified page, internally inconsistentGoogle's own pages disagree — confirm at checkout
Runway Free$0, 125 one-time creditsVerified official pageWatermarked; cannot buy more credits
Runway Standard$15/mo or $12 annual, 625 creditsVerified official page~52 seconds of Gen-4.5 at 12 credits/second
Runway Pro$35/mo or $28 annual, 2,250 creditsVerified official page~187 seconds of Gen-4.5
Runway Max$95/mo or $76 annual, 9,500 creditsVerified official page~791 seconds of Gen-4.5
Luma Lite$9.99 web / $12.99 iOS, 3,200 creditsVerified official pageWatermarked and NON-COMMERCIAL — unusable for a monetised drama
Luma Plus$29.99 web / $37.99 iOS, 10,000 creditsVerified official pageNo watermark, full commercial rights
Luma Unlimited$94.99 web / $119.99 iOSVerified official page10,000 fast credits plus unlimited relaxed generations
Kling~$10 Standard · ~$37 Pro · ~$92 Premier · ~$180 UltraSecondary sourceIndependent 2026 reports, not a retrieved official page
PikaFree · ~$8 Standard · ~$28 Pro · ~$76 FancySecondary sourceNo official page retrieved; terms unknown
Adobe Firefly Standard$9.99 a monthVerified official pageVideo model in limited public beta since October 14, 2024
ByteDance Seedance 2.0Not published for the US in our sourcesNot publishedReleased February 2026; a notable quality step up
ByteDance JimengNot published for the US in our sourcesNot published~12 seconds per generation, 30 with motion templates
Topview Drama StudioPrice not displayed on its public pageNot publishedPublicly marketed July 2026; end-to-end drama workflow

Count the status column and the picture is uncomfortable. Of nineteen rows, a majority carry a verified official price, but four are secondary-source, three publish nothing, and one is verified-but-self-contradictory. That is the actual state of pricing transparency in AI video generation in August 2026, and it is not better than the app side of the category, where nine of the thirteen apps we review give us no usable US price at all.

How much of an AI drama budget goes to tools?

Tool subscriptions are a small and shrinking share of what an AI drama costs to produce, which is why choosing the cheapest generator is close to irrelevant to your budget. The published benchmarks for total production cost sit far above any plausible sum of monthly software fees.

Live-action vertical drama$2,900First-time AI pipeline$400Experienced AI team$280Optimised AI pipeline$30 US dollars per finished on-screen minute
Cost per finished minute. The live-action bar shows the midpoint of $2,500–$3,300 a finished minute, which is what $150,000–$200,000 per screen hour works out to at 60 minutes an hour and the 80–90% AI saving come from FlexTV vice-president Tang Tang via MIT Technology Review, May 15, 2026. The $280/min figure is independent creator Jiang Lan's own accounting (TVBS, August 7, 2026). The $30/min floor describes a heavily optimised Chinese pipeline and is not a typical US result. Note what the chart cannot show: none of these numbers include user acquisition, which is now the larger line item.

Set the tool prices against those bars. A live-action vertical drama runs roughly $150,000 to $200,000 per screen hour, about $2,500 to $3,300 per finished minute. AI production runs $20,000 to $50,000 per screen hour, and a heavily optimised pipeline has reached about $30 per finished minute — a Chinese figure, not a typical US result. A 60-to-80 episode AI microdrama has been produced for $3,000 to $14,000 (NOW News, December 15, 2025). Independent creator Jiang Lan accounted for about $280 per finished minute and roughly $28,000 for twelve eight-minute episodes (TVBS, August 7, 2026).

Now put a Runway Pro subscription at $35 a month next to $3,000 for a season. The software is around one percent of the low-end budget. Even Google Flow Ultra at $200 a month over a three-month production is $600 against a $3,000 to $14,000 total. The tool line is real but it is not the line that decides whether the project works.

What the chart cannot show is the set of costs sitting outside every figure on it: failed generations, retakes, upscaling, voice correction, human editing, music and sound effects, storage, translation and QC, distribution fees, legal review, refund handling, and paid user acquisition, which is now often the largest line of all. FlexTV's vice-president Tang Tang told MIT Technology Review in May 2026 that moving North American production to AI cut costs 80 to 90 percent and compressed schedules from three or four months to under one, with teams of about ten people — a vendor describing its own results, and the most specific public figure available. The full breakdown is in what it costs to make an AI drama.

What does one AI video credit actually buy?

Credit systems make tools look cheaper than they are, because a monthly price divided by a credit allowance tells you nothing until you know how many credits one usable shot consumes. Here is the same question — how much output does one month of this plan produce — asked of every credit-based tool where our sources support an answer.

Seconds of generated output per month, worked from published credit costs
PlanMonthly priceCredit allowanceWhat that buysExpiry
Runway Standard$15 ($12 annual)625 credits~52 seconds of Gen-4.5 at 12 credits/secondMonthly credits expire on several plans
Runway Pro$35 ($28 annual)2,250 credits~187 seconds of Gen-4.5Purchased credits do not expire
Runway Max$95 ($76 annual)9,500 credits~791 seconds of Gen-4.5Web and API credit pools are separate
Google Flow Free$050 credits a day5 Veo 3.1 Lite generations a day (4–8s each)Daily; supported regions only
Google Flow PlusNot separately listed in our source200 credits a month2 Quality generations, or 10 Fast, or 20 LiteMonthly credits do not roll over
Google Flow Pro$19.99 (Google One Pro)1,000 credits a month10 Quality generations (80s), or 50 Fast, or 100 LiteMonthly credits do not roll over
Google Flow Ultra$100 / $200 (pages inconsistent)10,000 / 25,000 creditsUltra rates halve Lite and Fast costs; 4K costs 50 creditsMonthly credits do not roll over
Luma Lite$9.99 web / $12.99 iOS3,200 creditsWatermarked, non-commercial output onlyNot stated in our sources
Luma Plus$29.99 web / $37.99 iOS10,000 creditsUnwatermarked output with full commercial rightsNot stated in our sources
Luma Unlimited$94.99 web / $119.99 iOS10,000 fast creditsPlus unlimited relaxed-queue generationsNot stated in our sources

Two patterns fall out of that table. First, the gap between tiers is not linear — Runway Max costs 6.3 times Standard and delivers 15.2 times the credits, so volume is rewarded, which is exactly the shape you would expect in a market chasing high-output producers. Second, expiry rules do most of the damage. Google's credits do not roll over and Runway's monthly credits expire on several plans, which means an under-used month is a full-price month.

The comparison Sora 2 forces is instructive. At $0.10 a second with no subscription and no expiry, sixty seconds costs $6 whenever you generate it. Runway Standard at $15 for about 52 seconds works out near $0.29 a second and the seconds evaporate at month end. Per-second API pricing is not automatically cheaper, but it is the only structure here where unused capacity costs you nothing.

What are the limits, watermarks and rights on each tool?

Price is the question people ask; these five columns are the questions that decide whether a tool can be used for a monetised vertical drama at all. Where our sources do not state a value we write that, rather than estimating.

Maximum length, resolution, watermark, commercial rights and credit expiry by tool
ToolMax generation lengthResolutionWatermarkCommercial rightsCredit expiry
Sora 2Not stated in our sources720p at the $0.10 rate; documented up to 1080pNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sources — read OpenAI's termsn/a — billed per second
Veo 3.1 / Flow4, 6 or 8 seconds (Quality: 8s)1080p and 4K workflowsSynthID on outputNot stated in our sourcesMonthly credits do not roll over
Runway Gen-4.5Not stated; priced at 12 credits/secondGen-3 documented up to 1080pYes on the Free tierNot stated in our sourcesMonthly credits expire on several plans; purchased credits do not
LumaNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesYes on Lite; no on Plus and UnlimitedLite is NON-COMMERCIAL; Plus grants full commercial rightsNot stated in our sources
KlingUp to about 3 minutesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sources
PikaNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sources
Seedance 2.0Not stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sources
Jimeng~12 seconds; 30 with motion templatesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sources
Adobe FireflyNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesAdobe claims commercially safe training data (vendor claim)Not stated in our sources
Topview Drama StudioVertical episode production; per-shot limit not publishedNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNot stated in our sourcesNo price published, so no credit terms published

The density of "not stated in our sources" in that table is the finding. Four of ten tools give us no watermark policy, seven give us no commercial-rights statement, and six give us no credit-expiry rule. These are not exotic questions — they are the first three things a producer needs before generating a frame they intend to sell.

Note also what the maximum-length column does to the category. Even Kling's three-minute ceiling is shorter than a two-hour season by three orders of magnitude, and Veo's eight seconds is shorter than a single episode by a factor of ten. Every tool here produces fragments. Assembly is somebody's job, and it is not the model's.

What can none of these AI tools do?

None of the ten tools on this page writes a 70-episode story arc, holds a character across a season, clears rights, or performs the continuity edit. The generation step is the solved part. Everything difficult about making an AI drama sits outside the box you are paying for, and this is the section to read if you read only one.

The four jobs no generation tool performs, and what actually has to happen instead
What no tool doesWhy notWhat has to happen instead
Write a 70-episode arcModels generate shots, not structure. A season needs escalation, reveals placed against a paywall, and a hook in the first three seconds of every episodeA human writes the series plan and the episode grid, then supervises every script against it
Hold a character across a seasonIdentity drift is the defining failure mode: faces, clothing, jewellery, hairstyle, age and body proportions change between shots, and models trained on similar data produce similar facesA locked character bible, reference images, fixed seeds, first-and-last-frame control, shorter shots — mitigations that reduce drift without eliminating it
Clear rightsNo model checks whether a face resembles a real performer, whether a voice is a digital replica, or whether music is licensed. The US Copyright Office requires human authorship and disclosure of more-than-de-minimis AI materialLegal review before publication, consent and compensation for any digital replica, music licensing, and disclosure where a platform requires it
Perform the continuity editA 90-second episode is assembled from a dozen or more generations. Hands deform, background text becomes pseudo-letters, screen direction reverses, lip movement drifts, props appear and disappearShot-level human review, artefact repair, re-generation of rejected shots, lip-sync correction and a continuity pass across episodes

Why the story problem is not a prompting problem

A 40-to-100 episode season carries a specific structural burden: a hook inside three seconds, rapid conflict, a frequent reveal and a cliffhanger at the end of every single episode, with the paywall placed where stopping is hardest. That is a hundred separate engineering decisions about audience attention, and none of the tools on this page has an opinion about any of them. Topview's story planning and editable scripts get closest, and even there the product is a structured workspace rather than a showrunner.

Why consistency is an open research problem, not a settings issue

This is not a matter of finding the right checkbox. An ACM survey published May 18, 2026 treats spatiotemporal consistency as the central open problem in video generation; an OpenReview paper from March 26, 2026 reaches the same conclusion about narrative and temporal consistency in long video; arXiv:2510.04999, October 6, 2025, surveys the text-and-video bridge and finds the same gap. Reference images and first-and-last-frame controls are mitigations published by vendors, not solutions published by researchers. We go through the failure modes shot by shot in why AI drama characters change.

Why rights clearance cannot be delegated to a vendor

As of August 2026 there is no US federal law specific to AI dramas, which means the exposure is spread across copyright, right of publicity, trademark, contract, music licensing, voice rights, labour agreements, false endorsement, privacy and platform disclosure — and state law differs. The US Copyright Office's Copyright and AI, Part 2: Copyrightability, published January 29, 2025, states that purely AI-generated material is not protected while human selection, arrangement and editing may be, and that applicants must disclose more-than-de-minimis AI material. SAG-AFTRA's framework requires consent, disclosure, compensation and control for digital replicas. Adobe's commercially-safe-training claim narrows one slice of that surface if it holds; it does not cover the rest, and it is a vendor claim.

Why the edit is where the money goes

The economics invert the intuition. Generation is fast and cheap; continuity supervision and editing are where the hours accumulate and where the difference between watchable and unwatchable is settled. That is why cost per accepted shot, not cost per generation, is the metric producers actually track, and why a model that is 20% cheaper per second can produce a more expensive season if its acceptance rate is lower.

The one-line version: the tools solved the expensive part of filmmaking and left the hard part untouched. Cheap generation has not made hits common — DataEye's count of roughly 221,900 AI dramas on Douyin in the first half of 2026 found about 0.47% passed 100 million views. It has made misses cheap. If you are choosing a tool in the hope that it will carry a season, the evidence says the season is carried by the work you do after the tool has finished.

Which AI video tool should you choose?

Pick by constraint, not by reputation: the right tool is determined by whether you need published pricing, shot control, synchronised audio, long takes or commercial rights, and no single product wins on more than two of those.

Which tool fits which constraint, from the published facts only
If your constraint is…The tool the evidence points toWhyWhat you give up
A price you can model exactlySora 2 API$0.10 per second at 720p, no subscription, no expiryOur sources do not state its watermark or commercial terms
Shot-level control over continuityGoogle Veo 3.1 in FlowReference images, first and last frames, camera controls, scene extension, outpainting, object insert and remove8-second maximum, credits that do not roll over, contradictory Ultra pricing
Dialogue audio in sync with the mouthSora 2Synchronised audio is included at the published per-second rateLength limits are not stated in our sources
A long single takeKlingUp to about three minutes, far beyond anything else hereAll four plan prices are secondary-source; consistency over three minutes is unproven
Unambiguous commercial rightsLuma Plus at $29.99 webThe only plan in our fact base that states full commercial rights and no watermark$29.99 rather than the $9.99 headline, because Lite is non-commercial
Predictable credit arithmeticRunway Gen-4.5A flat 12 credits per second across four published plan tiersMonthly credits expire on several plans; web and API pools are separate
Vendor assurances about training dataAdobe Firefly at $9.99Adobe claims commercially safe training data and supports 100+ prompt languagesThe claim is a vendor claim and is not independently audited in our sources
A whole drama pipeline, not clipsTopview Drama StudioStory planning through to vertical episode output, publicly marketed July 2026No published price, and no independent evaluation exists

What you should not do is choose on the basis of which model produced the most impressive demo reel. Demos are single shots. A season is a thousand shots that have to agree with each other, and no demo tests that. If you want to see which apps are actually shipping AI-produced series in the US, FlexTV and StoReel are the two clearest cases, and both are reviewed in full.

Where do these tools fit in the production workflow?

Generation is stage four of eight, and it is the only stage on this diagram that any tool on this page performs end to end. Seeing the whole chain is the fastest way to understand why tool choice moves the budget so little.

1Story & series planpremise, episode count, hooks2Script & shot listhuman-reviewed dialogue, beats3Character biblelocked reference images4Shot generationtext- and image-to-video, 5–12s clips5Voice & soundsynthetic dialogue, dubbing, music6Edit & continuityartefact repair, lip-sync, pacing7Localisesubtitles, dubs, regional cuts8Publish & measureunlock rate, retention, churn
How an AI drama is actually produced. Stage 4 is the only step most people picture, and it is the one that produces the least finished footage: a 90-second episode is assembled from a dozen or more short generations, because current video models hold coherence for seconds, not minutes. Stages 1–3 and 6 are where humans still do most of the work.

Stages one to three are human work: the series plan, the scripts and the character bible that locks a face, a costume and a location before a single second is generated. Stage four is where Sora 2, Veo 3.1, Runway, Luma, Kling, Pika, Seedance and Jimeng operate, in clips of roughly 5 to 12 seconds. Stage five adds synthetic dialogue, dubbing and music — Sora 2 folds part of this into stage four with synchronised audio, which is a genuine workflow saving. Stage six, edit and continuity, is where artefacts are repaired, lip-sync is fixed and pacing is set, and it is the stage that decides whether the episode is watchable.

Stages seven and eight — localisation and publish-and-measure — are where a surprising amount of the American viewing experience is actually produced. A series filmed conventionally elsewhere and dubbed into English by a voice model is AI-touched rather than AI-made, and no app labels which is which. The full stage-by-stage walkthrough is how AI dramas are made, and if you are new to the format start with what AI dramas are.

One practical consequence of the diagram: a tool that only improves stage four has a capped effect on your schedule. FlexTV's reported compression from three or four months to under one came from restructuring the whole pipeline around a ten-person team, not from swapping one model for another — and that is the vendor's own account of its own results.

How verified are the prices on this page?

Several prices on this page come from secondary reporting rather than from official pricing pages we retrieved, and the evidence around Sora and Veo is particularly inconsistent. Nobody should publish these figures as permanent facts without checking at the vendor's own checkout. That statement is not boilerplate; it is the most useful thing we can tell you about this dataset.

What is secondary-source

Kling's four tiers, roughly $10, $37, $92 and $180, come from independent 2026 reports. Pika's tiers of roughly $8, $28 and $76 come from secondary reporting. Sora 2 Pro's $0.30 to $0.70 per second is a reported range rather than a retrieved rate card. None of those three sets should be quoted as an official price, by us or by anyone citing us.

Where the evidence contradicts itself

Google's own pages are not internally consistent on Flow Ultra pricing: $100 for 10,000 credits and $200 for 25,000 credits appear on the same help material and imply different rates. On the Sora side, the consumer product was reported as withdrawn on April 26, 2026 while the API stayed live, which means a large amount of writing about "Sora" published before and after that date describes two different things. Both situations produce comparison tables across the web that look authoritative and are not.

What we did not do

We did not re-verify every vendor checkout on August 19, 2026, and we are not going to imply that we did. Prices in this category change on a scale of weeks, regional pricing differs, App Store surcharges apply on iOS, and annual billing changes the headline. Our method for app pricing is on how we test, and the honest limitation is that a tools page cannot be held to the same hands-on standard as an app review, because we do not maintain a paid subscription to ten generation vendors.

Treat this page as a map of what is published and how confident each figure is, not as a rate card. If a number here decides a budget, go and get it from the vendor, and note the date you got it.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AI tool for making an AI drama?

There is no single best tool, and any page that names one is selling something. The honest answer is that the tool matters less than the workflow around it. For synchronised dialogue audio, Sora 2 is the tool with a published per-second price of $0.10 at 720p. For shot-level control — reference images, first and last frames, camera moves, scene extension — Google's Veo 3.1 inside Flow is the most feature-complete option in our fact base. For a credit budget you can predict exactly, Runway's Gen-4.5 at 12 credits per second is the easiest to model. For an end-to-end drama workflow rather than a clip generator, Topview Drama Studio is the only product here built for the job, and it does not display a price.

How much does Sora 2 cost per second?

The Sora 2 API is priced at $0.10 per second at 720p in portrait or landscape, with synchronised audio, under the model id sora-2. Sora 2 Pro has been reported at $0.30 to $0.70 per second depending on resolution — that Pro range is reported rather than retrieved from an official pricing page we checked, so treat it as indicative. A 90-second episode generated once at the base rate would be $9 of billable seconds, which is not the real cost, because you do not use every second you generate.

Is the consumer Sora app still available?

The original Sora consumer product was reported as no longer available as of April 26, 2026, while the API remained active. That is the state recorded in our fact base and it is a reported status rather than something we re-verified at the vendor on August 19, 2026. If you were planning to build a production line on the consumer app rather than the API, check availability before you plan anything else.

How many Veo 3.1 videos do Google's credits actually buy?

Veo 3.1 Lite costs 10 credits a generation (5 for Ultra subscribers), Fast costs 20 (10 for Ultra) and Quality costs 100. Lite and Fast produce 4, 6 or 8 seconds; Quality produces 8 seconds. So a Google One Pro plan at $19.99 with 1,000 credits a month is ten Quality generations, or fifty Fast generations, or a hundred Lite generations — and Google's monthly credits do not roll over. Free users get 50 credits a day in supported regions, which is five Lite generations.

Why is Google's Ultra pricing confusing?

Because Google's own pages are not internally consistent about it. The help page we worked from lists Ultra tiers at $100 for 10,000 credits and $200 for 25,000 credits, and those two ratios do not match each other cleanly. We flag it rather than smoothing it over: if you are budgeting a season around Ultra, confirm the number at Google's checkout in your own region before you commit, because we cannot tell you which figure is current.

What does Runway's 12 credits per second mean in money?

Runway's Gen-4.5, released December 1, 2025, consumes 12 credits per second, so a 5-second clip is 60 credits and a 10-second clip is 120 credits. A Standard plan at $15 a month gives 625 credits, which is about 52 seconds of Gen-4.5 output, or roughly five 10-second clips. Pro at $35 gives 2,250 credits (about 187 seconds). Max at $95 gives 9,500 credits (about 791 seconds, a little over 13 minutes). Those are seconds generated, not seconds you can use.

Which tools let me sell what I generate?

Of the plans in our fact base, Luma is the one that states the boundary explicitly: the Lite plan at $9.99 a month on web is watermarked and non-commercial, while the Plus plan at $29.99 removes the watermark and grants full commercial rights. That distinction alone disqualifies the cheapest Luma tier for anyone producing a drama to monetise. For every other tool here, our sourced material does not state commercial-use terms, so you must read the licence at the vendor rather than trust a comparison page, including this one.

Do AI video credits expire?

It depends on the vendor and it is one of the least transparent parts of the category. Google Flow's monthly credits do not roll over. Runway's monthly credits expire on several plans while purchased credits do not, and Runway's web and API credit pools are separate — credits bought for one are not spendable in the other. For the remaining tools our material does not state an expiry policy, which is itself worth knowing before you pre-buy a large credit balance.

How long a shot can these models generate?

Shorter than a scene, in every case. Kling is the longest in our fact base at up to about three minutes. ByteDance's Jimeng runs about 12 seconds per generation, or 30 seconds with motion templates. Google's Veo 3.1 produces 4, 6 or 8 seconds depending on the model tier. Across the category, production shots rarely exceed 10 to 12 seconds, and that is a model constraint rather than a stylistic choice. It is the single fact that shapes how AI dramas are edited.

Do these tools watermark the output?

Google's Veo 3.1 output carries a SynthID watermark. Runway's free tier watermarks. Luma's Lite tier watermarks and the Plus tier does not. For Sora 2, Kling, Pika, Seedance, Jimeng, Firefly and Topview our fact base does not record a watermark policy, so we do not state one. Note that SynthID is a provenance signal rather than a visible logo, and removing a visible watermark is not the same thing as removing provenance metadata.

Can any of these tools make a whole season by itself?

No. None of the ten tools on this page writes a 70-episode story arc, holds a character's face and wardrobe stable across a season, clears rights in a voice or a likeness, or performs the continuity edit that turns a folder of clips into an episode. Topview Drama Studio covers the widest span of the workflow — story planning, scripts, characters, locations, props, storyboards, voice, subtitles and vertical episode output — and even that is a workflow product, not a substitute for the human decisions inside it.

Is the cheapest tool the cheapest production?

Almost never. The metric that governs an AI drama budget is cost per accepted shot, not cost per generation. A 90-second episode is assembled from a dozen or more short generations, and many generations are discarded. Around the generation line sit failed renders, retakes, upscaling, voice correction, human editing, music and sound effects, storage, translation and QC, distribution fees, legal review, refund handling — and paid user acquisition, which is now often the largest line of all. We work the arithmetic through in what it costs to make an AI drama.

Are Adobe's commercial-safety claims verified?

No. Adobe states that Firefly is trained on commercially safe data, and Adobe's Firefly Video Model was announced in limited public beta on October 14, 2024 with support for 100+ prompt languages. The commercial-safety claim is a vendor claim about its own product. We report it as such. It may well be accurate, but a vendor's description of its own training data is not independent verification, and no independent audit of it appears in our source material.

Which prices on this page should I not trust?

The Kling tiers (roughly $10, $37, $92 and $180) and the Pika tiers (roughly $8, $28 and $76) come from secondary reporting rather than official pricing pages we retrieved, and both are marked that way in the pricing table. Sora 2 Pro's $0.30–$0.70 per second is likewise reported. Topview publishes no price at all. And the Google Ultra figures come from a help page that contradicts itself. Everything in the table carries a status column for exactly this reason.

The bottom line

The generation models behind AI dramas are cheap, fast, well documented in places and badly documented in others, and they are not what determines whether an AI drama works. Sora 2 gives you the cleanest price at $0.10 a second with synchronised audio. Veo 3.1 in Flow gives you the most control over continuity and the most confusing subscription arithmetic. Runway gives you the most predictable credit maths and the most credit rules to trip over. Luma gives you the clearest statement of commercial rights and prices its cheapest tier out of commercial use entirely. Kling gives you length. Topview gives you a pipeline and no price.

For a producer, the practical summary is one sentence: budget for the edit, not the generator. Software is around one percent of a $3,000 season. Failed generations, continuity repair, legal review and paid user acquisition are the lines that move, and cost per accepted shot is the only metric that describes what you are actually buying.

For a reader trying to work out which of these tools is "best", the answer is that the question is mis-specified. Ask instead which constraint binds you — published pricing, shot control, synchronised audio, long takes, commercial rights or a whole pipeline — and the table in the choosing section answers it directly from published facts. And then check the price yourself, because a third of the figures on this page came from somewhere other than a vendor's own page.

DramaBox app icon DramaBoxEditor's pick — biggest short-drama library, lowest price to go unlimited 9.8Excellent
  • Thousands of series, roughly 200 new titles every month
  • Free episodes daily, plus ad-unlocks — no card needed to start
  • Unlimited plans from about $5.99 a week, the lowest entry price we found
  • Runs on Android, iOS and in a desktop browser
Go to DramaBoxAffiliate link · free to download · in-app purchases available

Affiliate link. We may earn a commission if you install through it, at no extra cost to you — it never changes our scores or placements. How we test · Disclaimer

Read next

Sources

  • OpenAI — Sora 2 API pricing of $0.10 per second at 720p portrait or landscape, synchronised audio, model id sora-2. Verified official pricing. Sora 2 Pro at $0.30–$0.70 per second by resolution is a reported figure, secondary source.
  • Reporting on the Sora consumer product — the original consumer Sora described as no longer available as of April 26, 2026, with the API remaining active. Reported status, not re-verified by us on August 19, 2026.
  • Google — Veo 3.1 feature set (reference images, input video, first and last frames, camera controls, scene extension, outpainting, object insert and remove), SynthID watermarking, 1080p and 4K workflows. Flow credit costs: Lite 10 credits (5 Ultra), Fast 20 (10), Quality 100; Lite and Fast at 4, 6 or 8 seconds, Quality at 8 seconds; 1080p upscale free for Plus, Pro and Ultra; 4K unavailable to non-Ultra and 50 credits for Ultra; monthly credits do not roll over.
  • Google help pages on Flow subscription tiers — free 50 credits a day in supported regions, Plus 200 credits a month, Pro 1,000 credits a month at $19.99 for Google One Pro, Ultra listed at $100 for 10,000 credits and $200 for 25,000 credits. Flagged: Google's own pages are not internally consistent on Ultra pricing, and we report the inconsistency rather than resolving it.
  • Runway — Free ($0, 125 one-time credits, watermarked, cannot buy more), Standard $15/mo or $12 annual with 625 credits, Pro $35/$28 with 2,250 credits, Max $95/$76 with 9,500 credits. Gen-4.5 released December 1, 2025 and consuming 12 credits per second. Monthly credits expire on several plans, purchased credits do not, and web and API credit pools are separate.
  • Luma — pricing page updated January 25, 2026: Lite $9.99 web / $12.99 iOS with 3,200 credits, watermarked and non-commercial; Plus $29.99 / $37.99 with 10,000 credits, no watermark, full commercial rights; Unlimited $94.99 / $119.99 with 10,000 fast credits plus unlimited relaxed generations. Ray3.2 announced June 9, 2026.
  • Independent 2026 reports on Kling — Standard ~$10, Pro ~$37, Premier ~$92, Ultra ~$180. Secondary source, not an official pricing page we retrieved. Kling's up-to-three-minute generation length is from the same body of reporting.
  • Secondary reporting on Pika — Free, Standard ~$8, Pro ~$28, Fancy ~$76. No official page retrieved; watermark, resolution, length and commercial terms not established.
  • ByteDance — Seedance 2.0 released February 2026 and described as a notable step up in generation quality. Jimeng at approximately 12 seconds per generation, 30 seconds with motion templates. No US retail pricing published in our source material for either.
  • Adobe — Firefly Standard at $9.99 a month; Firefly Video Model announced in limited public beta October 14, 2024; support for 100+ prompt languages. Adobe's commercially-safe-training-data position is a vendor claim about its own product and is reported here as a claim, not as verified fact.
  • Topview — Drama Studio, an end-to-end AI drama workflow covering story planning, editable scripts, characters, locations, props, storyboards, voice, subtitles, generated video and vertical episode production. Publicly marketed July 2026. Price not displayed on its public page.
  • ACM, A Survey: Spatiotemporal Consistency in Video Generation (May 18, 2026); OpenReview on narrative and temporal consistency in long video (March 26, 2026); arXiv:2510.04999, Bridging Text and Video Generation: A Survey (October 6, 2025). The basis for treating consistency as an open research problem rather than a settings issue.
  • MIT Technology Review (May 15, 2026) — FlexTV vice-president Tang Tang on an 80–90% production cost reduction, schedules compressed from three or four months to under one, and teams of about ten people. A vendor describing its own results.
  • NOW News (December 15, 2025) — 60–80 episode AI microdramas produced for $3,000–$14,000. TVBS (August 7, 2026) — independent creator Jiang Lan at about $280 per finished minute and roughly $28,000 for twelve eight-minute episodes.
  • DataEye (2026) — approximately 221,900 AI dramas published on Douyin in the first half of 2026, roughly 1,200 a day, of which about 1,055 (0.47%) passed 100 million views. China Netcasting Services Association via Global Times — more than 95% of new Chinese microdramas AI-generated in Q1 2026.
  • US Copyright Office, Copyright and Artificial Intelligence, Part 2: Copyrightability (January 29, 2025) — purely AI-generated material is not protected; human selection, arrangement and editing may be; applicants must disclose more-than-de-minimis AI material. Part 3 on training data remains pre-publication. SAG-AFTRA materials (November 17, 2025) on consent, disclosure, compensation and control for digital replicas.

Written and verified by Oleksandr Korop, editor and publisher, with the the AI Drama Reviews editorial team

Oleksandr Korop is the named person responsible for everything published here, at the address on the imprint. We install every app on a US account, watch until the free tier runs out, pay through at least one paywall with our own money and record the receipt. Every figure on this page carries a source and a date. Corrections: send one with a source and we fix the page and date the change.

Last verified August 19, 2026. Our testing method · Every source we use, with links · About this site

Affiliate disclosure. Some outbound links on this page, including the DramaBox links, are affiliate links. If you install through one we may receive a commission at no additional cost to you, and it changes nothing about what we write — this page says plainly that a third of the tool prices in circulation cannot be traced to an official page, and we apply the same standard to the app we earn from. Accuracy notice. Tool pricing in this category moves on a scale of weeks. Figures marked "secondary source" come from independent reporting rather than retrieved vendor pricing pages, figures marked "not published" reflect a genuine absence rather than an oversight, and Google's Flow Ultra pricing is internally inconsistent on Google's own pages. Verify at the vendor's checkout before committing a budget. Verified August 19, 2026.